I want to be a (paid) Mad Man

I am now a PAID Mad Man

Posted in Blogs by jartkin on February 18, 2010

My name is Jamie Artkin and I am a (paid) Mad Man.

Finally! To many of the people that I worked with in the fall of 2009, I described by foray into advertising as a long and arduous process of getting a full-time, paying gig. Hence the name of the blog, I want to be a (paid) Mad Man.

I was scoffed at repeatedly because I had only been at it for four months. I came in, worked my butt off and in the end, it paid off. Like it was supposed to. Isn’t that why people intern in the first place? Get some experience under your belt and ultimately get hired at the firm you intern at, or set your self up to get hired on somewhere else.

I did it perfectly but the reality still seems to be that although things are getting better economically, there are still a tonne of twenty-somethings on the sidelines, still looking for a pay cheque.

Did I get lucky? Maybe. Was I more fortunate that I worked my butt off and got noticed enough to standout from the rest who were trying to scratch their way inside?

I think it was a little bit of both.

What is the lesson? Be tenacious. Any time you have some kind of contact or a lead, you have to utilize it. In the advertising industry it became quickly apparent to me that jobs aren’t handed out or posted on message boards. An email is sent from HR asking the staff to forward resumes of stars they may know.

So if you get forwarded an email like that, attack it like it is your job to lose.

Just my two cents, for what it’s worth.

So, from now on this blog will be a little bit lighter.

A little more sports, a little more humor.

What can I say, I’ve been on cloud nine for quite a while now.

Finally, I’m a (paid) Mad Man.

As always, follow me on twitter: @jamieartkin

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

